I Smell Like Me (NaPoWriMo #14)

I smell like me.
I am who I say I am. Which meaning do I seek?
Martha? Oh lady, mistress?
Max, a diminutive of greatness?
Née surname Balsiger, of the Palzing region,
A rush of blood recognition when I’m in Bavaria.
Adopted to Torrens of Torrance
of Torrance north of East Kilbride or of Glasgow.
Married to Despain meaning D’Espagne a
French pointing labeling: “Spaniard.”
Married to Frazier.
Sweet French kiss of strawberries from a Scottish vale.
The Bard asks, “What’s in a name? That which we call a rose/
By any other name would smell as sweet”
And I smell like me.
MaxieJane Frazier
Née, again.

3 Replies to “I Smell Like Me (NaPoWriMo #14)”

  1. This batch of Balsiger came from Switzerland around 1880 and settled near Ione Wa. ( Hwy 31 near Canadian Border.) The name evolved from Von Balsigen Sent from Mail for Windows 10 From: Put Out to PastureSent: Wednesday, April 14, 2021 3:59 PMTo: balsigerf@gmail.comSubject: [New post] I Smell Like Me (NaPoWriMo #14) MaxieJane posted: " I smell like me.I am who I say I am. Which meaning do I seek?Martha? Oh lady, mistress?Max, a diminutive of greatness?Née surname Balsiger, of the Palzing region,A rush of blood recognition when I’m in Bavaria.Adopted to Torrens of Torranceof Torranc"

    Like

Leave a comment