bring me magic (NaPoWriMo #18)

bring me magic
Tell me where is the opposite
side
of
the earth?

I send out tentative vibration from my isolation, hello?
Knocked flat, vaccuumed breath, fish pucker.

Buffeted by billions of reverberations, I’m seasick,
panicked.
At a touch,
Here is the entire world’s energy.

Right here, literally, it’s hay and pines, red-winged blackbirds and sky.
The flutter of wings moving whisper air and
I hear the roots pushing and wrapping around me.

Dizzying energy, I grasp and pull.
These pulses, my pulses, braiding in
fistfulls
tight twist, outside over center.

And then I know.

They’ve always been here.
I’ve always been a part of them.
Each choice joining my idea of right,
Positive parting around
Great human rocks,
Unhindered by the negative thrust.

A rainbow river of likeness
Formed in invisible,
global,
powerful,
powerless.
It simply is.

I feel my reverberations,
The shimmy of my whole self,
Join in the braided twists.

For just that flash among billions,
I belong.
I am magic.

4 Replies to “bring me magic (NaPoWriMo #18)”

  1. I enjoyed the journey from ‘bring me magic’ to ‘I am magic’, the ‘knocked flat, vacuumed breath, fish pucker’ and the seasick feeling of hurtling through space with you. I especially loved the inhalation of ‘hay and pines, red-winged blackbirds and sky’, the way the isolated line ‘And then I know’ announces the realisation, and these lines:
    ‘I feel my reverberations,
    The shimmy of my whole self,
    Join in the braided twists.’

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment