Sister (heartbreak) (#4 Na/GloPoWriMo)

Sissies

I don’t know when my sister will die.
I know her diagnosis and statistics.
I fly, she works, and we go to chemo.
The usual: Taxol plus two. It takes forever,
if only it could take forever.
I get take out and she naps.
That high school friend pops in, how random is that?
And massages lotion on her feet.
My sister lives every single day,
As if it were her last.
We make plans for this summer, but
Not for next year—it seems as if it will stop,
time I mean. As if we all will stop when she does.
I don’t know when my sister will die.

11 Replies to “Sister (heartbreak) (#4 Na/GloPoWriMo)”

  1. Such a tough place to be in, suspended between life and death, trying to focus on the former. My sister was diagnosed with acute leukaemia when I was 19. She asked me to be there with her till the end. I was. Have an inkling of what you are going through. Take care.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Quite a beautiful piece you’ve written. I’m sorry for the situation, though. Sort of “been there done that” and so I feel I understand. And…..as difficult as it is…..what you do as a witness of love and life is an incredible gift for you both. Much love…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment