That Girl (2020 NaPoWriMo #28)

fb_img_1588114134109

That girl had a dorm room:
Sheets in hospital corners,
Underwear folded, just so,
SAMI meant inspections.

Who knew she would still
Fold underwear, just so?
Make her bed every day?
Even hang her clothes that way?

That the room represented
a way of life
That she followed for twenty-
six more years?

And when she retired,
remnants living in the folds,
she wouldn’t miss it?
One bit?

10 Replies to “That Girl (2020 NaPoWriMo #28)”

  1. Early habits tend to be life-long habits. I still hear my mother’s voice in my head whenever I don’t hang my clothes properly. I may be overcompensating by letting my kids keep their clothes in piles on the floor..

    Liked by 1 person

      1. This must sound insane, but because I enjoy the sense of accomplishment after cleaning a mess, I need to let things accumulate for a while to get gratification. The daily upkeep is just not satisfying enough.😂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment